sound clips

Portrait of Adrian Azuelo

Prelude / Asturias (Leyenda) by Isaac Albéniz (extract)

This famous piano piece by Isaac Albéniz was originally published as the prelude of a three-movement set Chants d’España. The piece was renamed Asturias (Leyenda) by the composer’s publisher and added posthumously to Suite Española. Although the work is best known as Asturias, a reference to that Northern region of Spain, the titles Prelude or Leyenda are perhaps more apt as the composition takes its inspiration from the flamenco music of Southern Spain.

Prelude No. 3 by Heitor Villa-Lobos

Prelude No. 3 (Homage to Bach) is my favourite of the Five Preludes by Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos. The sweeping arcs of the first section build to a series of repeated notes that dissolve into the second section comprising lyrical cascading phrases punctuated by colourful chords before final resolution onto an unadorned octave.

Romanillos rosette